Staff Directory

SENIOR STAFF

MPS_9109Ward Slacum
Executive Director

Ward is responsible for activities within ORP’s core programs in Oyster Restoration, Shell Reclamation, Oyster Aquaculture and Fisheries. Ward has a broad background in marine and estuarine science and has been supporting Bay restoration for the past 20 years through research and cooperative programs with Bay watermen. Prior to joining ORP he was the manager of Versar’s Coastal and Marine Assessment Program. He earned a Master’s degree in Fisheries Science from the University of Maryland MEES Program and a bachelor degree in Environmental Science from the UMD Eastern Shore campus. He was born on the Eastern Shore and lives in Stevensville. In his free time, Ward enjoys being outdoors gardening, boating, fishing, and making furniture in the woodshop.

David KingDavid King
Director of Field Operations
As the Director of Field Operations, Dave oversees staff and operations at ORP’s shell recycling headquarters in Cambridge, MD.  A Kent Island native, Dave grew up on the Chesapeake Bay. His love of the water led him to the Navy, where he became an awarded sailor. After the Navy he served on the State of Maryland buoy tender and ice breaker. It was during that time he discovered diving, eventually graduating from the Diver’s Academy of the Eastern Seaboard. He then went on to work in the Gulf of Mexico before serving in the Army Active Reserve (honorably discharged) as a watercraft operator. Since 2007 he has managed a successful diving business based out of Annapolis. Dave feels very fortunate to be involved in ORP’s mission to improve the health of his beloved Chesapeake Bay. His free time is spent boating, camping and traveling with his wife Brooke, and daughters Taylor, Piper and Sophie. He considers his family to be dining aficionados — enjoying cuisines with Chesapeake seafood being at the top of the list.

Paul SPaul Schurick
Director of Partnerships
Paul works with businesses, organizations and individuals to build partnerships to increase the environmental, economic and cultural importance of oysters. He has more than 30 years experience in policy, communications and partnerships. He has master’s and bachelor’s degrees in economics from the West Virginia University. He served as chief of staff for Maryland Gov. William Donald Schaefer and director of communications for Gov. Robert Ehrlich. In his free time, Paul enjoys kayaking and cooking. He lives in Annapolis.


OPERATIONS

NameTitleEmailPhone Ext
Ward SlacumExecutive Directorwslacum@oysterrecovery.org1015
Tommy PriceShell Recycling Alliance Operations Managertprice@oysterrecovery.org1011
Matt MillerShell Collection and Transport Technicianmmiller@oysterrecovery.org
Sara ColemanCoastal Resource Scientistscoleman@oysterrecovery.org1028
Kaycee ColemanCoastal Resource Scientistkcoleman@oysterrecovery.org1027
Jennifer Aus (Walters)Coastal Resource Scientistjwalters@oysterrecovery.org
Eric AmrheinCoastal Science Technician IIeamrhein@oysterrecovery.org

Marketing/Partnerships

NameTitleEmailPhone Ext
Paul SchurickDirector of Partnershipspschurick@oysterrecovery.org1017
Allison Albert GuercioMarketing Manageraaguercio@oysterrecovery.org1016

Finance/Admin

NameTitleEmailPhone Ext
Rebecca MorlockControllerrmorlock@oysterrecovery.org1026
Charlene HarrisonAccounts Receivable Specialistcharrison@oysterrecovery.org1024
Kevin MillerPayroll & Finance Specialistkmiller@oysterrecovery.org1018

Field Operations

NameTitleEmailPhone Ext
Dave KingDirector of Field Operationsdking@oysterrecovery.org
Zach Whitezwhite@oysterrecovery.org